Wanderings of My Mind

Random Words from the book "365 Things to Write About"

Book

Today’s random word is book.

I love reading. Granted, I don’t read as much as I used to. I guess that is what happens when smartphones come into play; why should I settle down with a book when I have the world at my fingertips?

When I was in high school, I went through a two or three books a month. I had two study halls in my junior and senior year, and I would devour books. My favorite authors back then were Patricia Cornwell, John Grisham, and Sue Grafton. Still today, Cornwell and Grisham are on my top favorite list, along with Nicholas Sparks, J.R. Ward and Lynn Viehl.

RedFernMy all-time favorite book is Where the Red Fern Grows written by Wilson Rawls. I’ve read that book at least half a dozen times, and it still brings me to tears.

Who doesn’t love a book about a young boy with so much love for the dogs that he bought. It took young Billy two years to save up his own money to buy two hound dogs that he named Old Dan and Little Ann. Billy trains them to trail raccoons and soon they are becoming known as the best hunting dogs in the Ozarks.

It’s a book filled with every emotion possible. If I was ever trapped on a desert island, and I could only have one book, this is the one and only book I would choose.

WatershipDownI also love Watership Down by Richard Adams. For anyone who knows me, of course I would love a book that features rabbits on an adventure. I even wanted to name my second rabbit ‘Fiver’, but we ended up compromising on ‘Snickers’ instead. I mentioned this book, and movie, in my Meadow post.

I’ve only seen the movie, Watership Down, once, although I would like to watch it again. It is a very good movie, but even for a cartoon, it is very graphic. Definitely not a kid’s movie, like it is advertised to be.

Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta series and J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series are my two all-time favorite book series. The Scarpetta series means more to me though, since I have been reading it since high school . My favorite book in the series is Unnatural Exposure, and my favorite character is Lucy Farinelli.

I think I enjoy the older books more than the newer ones, but I will never say no to a Kay Scarpetta book. I am anxiously counting down the days until September 2nd when Dust comes out in paperback. I have the rest of the books in paperback, so I will not allow myself to buy the new ones in hardcover.

I’m not a big fan of Cornwell’s other two series, Andy Brazil and Winston Garano, however I did read Southern Cross, the second book in the Andy Brazil series in less than 48 hours because I couldn’t put it down!

LoverAwakenedMy favorite book from The Black Dagger Brotherhood series is Lover Awakened, which features my favorite brother, Zsadist. This is the third book in the series.

When people ask what this series is about, I tell them to think of Twilight, and add in better writing, more sex, language, and alcohol. At least that is how the series begins: a vampire falling in love with a human.

I know most of you cringed when I said to think of Twilight, and I understand why (although I must admit, I am a Twilight junkie), however, trust me when I tell you that The Black Dagger Brotherhood series is so much better than Twilight.

The first John Grisham books I read was A Time to Kill, and as I explained in my post Eavesdropping, that one took me months to read. I think it was because A Time to Kill was my first ‘adult’ novel, and I wasn’t used to the small print and writing style that differs from young adult novels. However, once I finished that book, I flew through his others.

DearJohnMy favorite Nicholas Sparks books are The Rescue, Dear John, and The Lucky One. I love his novels, but for me, his movies are either good or not good, there really is no gray area. When I saw that Dear John and The Lucky One were coming out as movies, I got really nervous because I didn’t want a book that I love getting ruined by the movie.

Although The Lucky One did turn out to be a pretty good movie, Dear John was fantastic. I don’t own a lot of movies, but I did make sure to add it to my collection. Safe Haven is my other favorite Nicholas Sparks movie, and I had to buy it the day it was released, although the book is not one of my favorites.

Quite a few years ago, I had the opportunity to meet Nicholas Sparks; you can call it a perk of working at a bookstore. Three co-workers and I were selling books the event at the Akron Civic Theater. The line for the book signing was two or three hours long, and he stayed and signed one book for every single person who stood in his line.

Afterward, he signed books for the bookstore staff and even talked to us for a few minutes before he had to do a photo shoot. It meant a lot to the four of us, that someone as famous as Nicholas Sparks, would give so much of his time for everyone, and then still spend a few minutes with us.

ThroughSmokeAnother favorite book series of mine is the Troubled Heroes Series written by J.R. Tate. I mentioned this series in my Smoke post. J.R. Tate is a long-time friend of mine, and she is an incredible writer. I read Backfire, the second book of the series, in less than 24 hours!

I am holding off reading Fire Escape, which is the third book in the series, until I am on a plane later this month, flying down to Orlando. I will need something to do to keep me busy in a confined area for two and a half hours.

Yes, I do read mostly fiction, as that is what I enjoy the most. However, there are quite a few non-fiction books that I love as well. My top two favorites are The Confession by James E McGreevey, and Let’s Roll by Lisa Beamer. I love biographies, whether told by a third party or written as an autobiography.

When I was younger I would have to write book reports for school, and I flew through biographies on Thomas Edison and Benjamin Franklin. It was as if I couldn’t get enough knowledge on these great inventors.

I wish I read more now, like I did when I was in high school. I think smartphones and the internet have definitely got in the way of me cuddling up with a good novel. However, I enjoy taking a hot, relaxing bath at least once a week, and I always read in the tub.

I also have an app on my phone that I can use to download books, and I have read two so far on my Galaxy S4 phone. It’s not as bad reading on my phone as I thought it would be. I see many more downloaded books in my future!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2014 by in Random and tagged , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 623 other followers

